Diocese of Calicut







Bishop Varghese Chakkalakal who was the first bishop of the Diocese of Kannur which was established in the year 1998 was installed the Bishop of the Diocese of Calicut in the year 2012 one year after the then Bishop of Calicut, Rt. Rev. Dr Joseph Kalathiparambil was given a new appointment by the Holy See as the Secretary of the Pontifical Congregation for Migrants and Itinerant People. 
Bishop Varghese Chakkalakal is keenly conscious of the greatness and sublimity of the priesthood. He begins each day expressing his thanks to God Almighty for the precious gift of life, love and vocation to the priesthood, which he has received from God. While he served as Pastor in various parishes of the Diocese of Calciut such as Loudumatha Shrine, Pallikunn, St Peter's Church, Chalil and Our Lady of Lourdes Church Perinthalmanna , he was able to acquire the life-style of a true pastor.
 He has a strong devotion to Mary the Mother of God and to the Rosary. A man of prayer and God-experience, he is compassionate and a man for the people. He is easily approachable and available to one and all, he foresees the needs of others and reaches out to them with consideration and compassion. Of a pleasant disposition and a ready smile, he is able to deal with others with affability and a keen sense of humor.
Bishop Emeritus of Calicut

The motto of the Bishop Joseph's Coat of Arms is "Love is the greatest of all" ("Super Omnia Caritas") (I Cor. 13: 13). Having imbibed the qualities of enduring love described by St Paul, he has the innate capacity to foster cordiality, tolerance and gentleness.
Bishop Joseph was appointed the Secretary of the Pontifical Council for Migrants and Itinerant People by the Holy See in 2011. He now resides in Santa Martha, Vatican City.   
He was instrumental in set righting many administrative difficulties of the diocese, kick starting a   renewal programme for the diocese. In order to ensure the active participation of all the faithful, he took necessary steps for the effective functioning of structures and facilities prescribed by Canon Law namely, Parish Pastoral Committee, Diocesan Pastoral Committee, Diocesan-Parish Finance Committee, Diocesan Synod and Basic Christian Communities. The Diocese is greatly  indebted to him for his Charisma and goodness which tremendously helped the diocese in times tests and troubles. 



Bishop Paul Perini, S.J. (1923-1932) Fr. Milbank Francis Barboza, S.J, Vicar Capitular (1932-1933) Msgr. Benjamin .M. Ranzani, S.J., Apostolic Administrator (1933-1938) Bishop Leo Proserpio, S.J. (1938- 1940)
Fr. Pancratius Zanolin, S.J, Vicar Capitualar (1945-1948) Bishop Aldo Maria Patroni, S.J. (1948-1980) Bishop Emeritus
Bishop Maxwell Valentine Noronha (1980-2002)

Msgr. Vincent Arackal, Apostolic Administrator
(May 2011-June 2012)